India's main ruling party BJP elects new president

Tuesday, 2020-01-21 15:15:29
 Font Size:     |        Print

Jagat Prakash Nadda (R), newly-elected president of ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is congratulated by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the function at BJP headquarters in New Delhi, India, Jan. 20, 2020. (Photo: Xinhua)
 Font Size:     |  

India's main ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on January 20 elected Jagat Prakash Nadda as the new president.

Nadda, who has been the party's working president for over six months, succeeded Amit Shah to become the BJP's 11th president.

Senior party leaders, including Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, were present on the occasion, along with other senior party functionaries and chief ministers of several BJP-ruled states.

The BJP, one of the two major political parties in India, claimed a total membership of over 180 million in 2019.