Quang Liem retains winning run at Sharjah Masters 2019

Monday, 2019-03-25 16:36:00
 Font Size:     |        Print

Top Vietnamese chess player Le Quang Liem
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – Vietnam’s no. 1 chess player Le Quang Liem extended his winning streak to three games at the ongoing 2019 Sharjah Masters in the United Arab Emirates after overcoming India’s M. R. Venkatesh in the third round on March 24.

>>> Vietnamese chess players off to perfect start at Sharjah Masters 2019

Taking advantage of playing white, Quang Liem (Elo 2715) needed 57 moves to force lower-ranked Venkatesh (Elo 2517) to concede defeat.

With three points after three consecutive wins, the Vietnamese GM remains in the leading group, together with Ernesto Inarkiev (Russia, Elo 2692), Alexandr Fier (Brazil, Elo 2551), Eduardo Iturrizaga (Venezuela, Elo 2639) and Nihal Sarin (India, Elo 2578).

The third-round victory has earned Quang Liem five additional Elo points to compensate for the points he dropped at the recent 2019 Spring Chess Classic in St Louis, Missouri, USA.

Next up for the third seed will be a fourth-round clash with Venezuelan Eduardo Iturrizaga who recently attended the 2019 HDBank International Chess Tournament in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.

The remaining Vietnamese representative, Nguyen Anh Khoi (Elo 2484), played black to draw with higher-rated Ukrainian Alexander Zubov (Elo 2605), which is considered an acceptable result for the Vietnamese chess prodigy.

After three rounds, Anh Khoi has won 2.5 points and a rating performance of 2559. In the fourth round, he will play white against Surya Shekhar Ganguly (India, Elo 2633).

Sharjah Masters 2019 is taking place from March 22 to 30 with the participation of over 150 chess players from 30 countries and territories, playing according to the nine-round Swiss system. Quang Liem and Anh Khoi are the only two representatives of Vietnam.

The tournament features 33 grandmasters, including 14 with an Elo rating of 2600+ and three players rated above 2700. A prize fund of US$60,000 is up for grabs, with the champion receiving US$15,000.