National women’s football tourney kicks off

Friday, 2017-05-12 11:27:41
 Font Size:     |        Print

Reigning champions HCM City 1 (in red) suffer a shocking loss to Vinacomin.
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – The 2017 National Women’s Football Championship officially commenced at Thong Nhat Stadium in Ho Chi Minh City on May 11 with the participation of eight teams, including Ho Chi Minh City 1, HCM City 2, Hanoi 1, Hanoi 2, Phong Phu Ha Nam, Son La, Vinacomin and TNG Thai Nguyen.

The participating teams are competing in a two-leg round robin tournament, with the top four scorers after 14 rounds to go through to the semifinal, which will determine the two finalists.

The first leg will take place at Thong Nhat Stadium from May 11 to June 6, while second-leg matches will be held at Ha Nam Stadium in the northern province of Ha Nam from November 6 to 27.

The overall champions will receive VND300 million (US$13,200) in prize money, while respective stakes of VND200 million and VND100 million will be awarded to the runners-up and the third-place team.

In addition, the organising committee will also present a fair-play award and awards for “best player”, “top scorer” and “best goalkeeper”.

Right after the opening ceremony the first clash was held between title favourites HCM City 1 and Vinacomin.

HCM City’s ambition for the third crown in a row was dealt a massive blow after suffering a shocking 0-2 loss to Vinacomin, with Tran Thi Thu opening the scoring in the second minute and Nguyen Thi Van putting the game to bed with the second goal six minutes from full-time.