Apec Vietnam 2017

Creating new dynamism, fostering a shared future

More than ever, APEC must continue to uphold its leading and pioneering role in creating new drivers to build the Asia-Pacific into a region of peace, stability and dynamic, sustainable and inclusive development. Vietnam therefore proposes “Creating New Dynamism, Fostering a Shared Future” as the overarching theme for APEC 2017."

Read full text

Vietnamese President

Vietnamese President

About APEC

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific. APEC’s 21 members aim to create greater prosperity for the people of the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration.
APEC: Imagine the Possibilities

APEC ensures that goods, services, investment and people move easily across borders. Members facilitate this trade through faster customs procedures at borders; more favourable business climates behind the border; and aligning regulations and standards across the region.

APEC works to help all residents of the Asia-Pacific participate in the growing economy. For example, APEC projects provide digital skills training for rural communities and help indigenous women export their products abroad.

Recognising the impacts of climate change, APEC members also implement initiatives to increase energy efficiency and promote sustainable management of forest and marine resources.

The forum adapts to allow members to deal with important new challenges to the region’s economic well-being. This includes ensuring disaster resilience, planning for pandemics, and addressing terrorism.

APEC’s 21 member economies are
★ Australia
★ Brunei
★ Canada
★ Chile
★ China
★ Hong Kong, China
★ Indonesia
★ Japan
★ Republic of Korea
★ Malaysia
★ Mexico
★ New Zealand
★ Papua New Guinea
★ Peru
★ Philippines
★ Russia
★ Singapore
★ Chinese Taipei
★ Thailand
★ United States
★ Vietnam

APEC’s 21 member economies are Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; the Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; the Philippines; Russia; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; the United States and Vietnam.

APEC in charts

Share of global population

The APEC region accounted for 39% of the world’s population in 2015. China had the largest share with 19% of the world’s population, followed by the United States with 4% and Indonesia with 3%.

Share of global GDP

Two APEC economies, the United States and China, accounted for 39% of the world’s total nominal GDP in 2015. Overall, APEC economies, valued at US$43 trillion, accounted for 59% of the world’s nominal GDP.

Share of total world trade

The APEC region’s trade in merchandise goods and commercial services reached US$20 trillion in 2015, which was almost half (48%) of the world’s total trade. China, Japan and the United States accounted for 26% of global trade.

GDP, GDP per capita and growth rate (2011-2015)

Data source: StatsAPEC
Legend: AUS: Australia, BRN: Brunei, CAN: Canada, CHL: Chile, CHN: China, HKG: Hong Kong, IDN: Indonesia, JPN: Japan, KOR: Republic of Korea, MYS: Malaysia, MEX: Mexico, NZL: New Zealand, PNG: Papua New Guinea, PER: Peru, PHL: Philippines, RUS: Russia, SGP: Singapore, TWN: Chinese Taipei, THA: Thailand, USA: United States, VNM: Vietnam
Note: GDP and GDP per capita are constant 2010 US$ (in millions), 2015 data for Papua New Guinea is unavailable, Chinese Taipei's data is current US$


A brief history of APEC from its inception until present

Member economies

Click on an icon to view more information









Korea (Rep.)



New Zealand






Chinese Taipei




Vietnam & APEC

On November 14, 1998, Vietnam, together with Russia and Peru, was admitted as an official member of APEC, which marked an important step in Vietnam's process of regional and international economic integration.

Despite being a new member, Vietnam has actively participated in economic, trade, investment cooperation programmes and the liberlisation process of APEC.

Vietnam hosted the APEC Leaders’ Summit in 2006 and is preparing for the APEC Leaders’ Summit in 2017 scheduled to take place in Da Nang in November.

Prior to the Leaders' Summit, meetings on various issues will be held throughout the year in Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Ha Long, Ninh Binh, Vinh, Hoi An, Hue, Nha Trang and Can Tho.

Four priorities of APEC Vietnam 2017


Introduction to APEC Vietnam 2017
Welcome to Vietnam

More videos

Welcoming Remarks by APEC 2017 SOM Chair Bui Thanh Son
Interview with SOM Chair Bui Thanh Son
Remarks by Deputy PM Pham Binh Minh at PECC 24th General Meeting
Keynote Address by Deputy PM Pham Binh Minh at the Symposium on Priorities for APEC Vietnam 2017